Zodi’s Blog

Spring has Sprung

 

I woke up this morning to the sounds of the birds singing their sweet spring song! The sky is pure blue. The street cats are vocalizing their desperate need for sexual healing. The dogs are already openly fornicating all over the streets. I mean all over. The Peugeots and mopeds are being spit shined. The mullets are being coifed and waxed. The gypsies have had their opening day of knife fight season, and with a win for the home team. And the British Tourists will be complaining about the ‘oppressive heat’ any day now. That’s right baby, spring is finally in the air! This was by far the worst winter I’ve experienced since leaving the northeast. But I’ve made it out the other side without any pending criminal charges. Yay.

I’ll leave you with a few parting shots…..     

 

March 2, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , ,

43 Comments »

  1. Arrrggghhhhh . . . it’s still friggin cold here, the gangs haven’t started their drive-byes yet, I gotta scrape the friggin ice of my windshield this morning, and I had to use the electric blanket last night. And what do I wake up to? Friggin pictures of a nice warm area. Damn you, sir!!! :-)

    Comment by jammer5 | March 2, 2010 | Reply

    • Actually I wrote that yesterday. Today I woke up to dark, gray skies and chilly rain. I think the worst of it is over tho!

      Thanks Jammer!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | March 2, 2010 | Reply

  2. Bee-yoo-tee-ful pics, Scott. I love the shot of the curve in the road.

    We are still below average temp wise and we haven’t seen the sun in over a week. But I fear not, for there is hope that soon the chicks in Bagwine who have no business wearing them, will soon break out their halter tops and wife beaters.

    Cheers Scott!!

    Comment by Matt-Man | March 2, 2010 | Reply

    • I love the shot of the road too. I think the contrast of the beige road and blue sky look amazing.

      Why is it always the ones you don’t want to see in skimpy clothing that wear skimpy clothing? It must be the meth.

      Thanks Matt-Man!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | March 2, 2010 | Reply

  3. we’re supposed to get more snow mid week

    I love those trees! their twisted old limbs are such a contrast to the young beautiful buds at the end of them

    Comment by dianne | March 2, 2010 | Reply

    • I feel for you Dianne, I lived with it for too long myself.

      I’m going to do a whole post on the almond trees in Spain and the legend behind them. This week or next.

      Thanks Dianne!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | March 2, 2010 | Reply

  4. Wow, I am sold cause of those pics. Thats the place to be…We are warming up here in the midlant but our scenery has a long way to go to look like that….zman sends

    Comment by steve | March 2, 2010 | Reply

    • Yea, but our green will start to fade as drought season draws nigh…there is no moderation only soaking rain….drought.

      Thanks Steve!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | March 2, 2010 | Reply

  5. I enjoy these pictures of yours, while yet again a light snow is falling here and the Dafodills have yet to break into bud. Haven’t had to wait till March in all four years here.
    We saw a nice boat for sale in Barcelona, like I said, we have no idea where we’ll end up.

    Comment by Micky-T | March 2, 2010 | Reply

    • It’s been bad for everyone around the whole globe this winter. WTF is going on?

      You should think about Spain. You already have a friend here and everything!

      Thanks Micky!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | March 2, 2010 | Reply

  6. Wow, it’s so beautiful there. I like the last picture the best; I love water. Your descriptions of the cats, dogs, mullets, and gypsies are so funny. Sounds like paradise!

    Comment by 3 Men and a Lady | March 2, 2010 | Reply

    • You know how much I love water too! I could spend the rest of my life on the water.

      It is paradise…usually. You have to visit sometime!

      Thanks Mrs. D/3 Men and a Lady!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | March 3, 2010 | Reply

  7. I’m glad it’s spring somewhere. I’m sick and tired of having to sit there and wait for my car (and seat warmers) to warm up every morning.

    Love the pics. You live in a very scenic place.

    Comment by Jay | March 2, 2010 | Reply

    • Yea, but it is well worth the wait. You can’t have a frozen ass…

      Thanks Jay!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | March 3, 2010 | Reply

  8. Beautiful photos! It’s Spring here, too. We’ve been getting some lovely soft rains and the weeds are sprouting, the birds are singing, the bums pushing their shopping carts have a bounce in their step… Soon the snowbirds will pack up their motorhomes and head back to Minnesota. I think I’ll have to do a “Spring Has Sprung” post, too! I’m inspired!

    Comment by Another Desert Rat | March 2, 2010 | Reply

    • Feel free, It’s about time I inspired somebody! When I lived in Florida, I loved beyond words when the snowbirds would go home.

      Thanks Desert Rat!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | March 3, 2010 | Reply

  9. There’s pretty much nothing like watching dogs hump.

    Enjoy it!

    Love the pics.

    Comment by Candice | March 2, 2010 | Reply

    • You know I love a good canine carnal….

      Thanks Candice!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | March 3, 2010 | Reply

  10. There is some heat in the sunshine over britland, but still way to fecking cool otherwise; nice photos!

    Comment by Dave Hambidge | March 2, 2010 | Reply

    • Yea, I heard it was really cool. Why can’t you just have sun and warn weather year round so I could live in London?

      Thanks Dave!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | March 4, 2010 | Reply

  11. Very nice….I like that it seems there aren’t many people where you live? Looks very serene…..lucky you.

    Trisho

    http://trishothinks.wordpress.com/

    Comment by trishothinks | March 3, 2010 | Reply

    • No, this is the first time I’ve ever lived outside a major city. I do love it, but I do miss the culture and activity of the city….

      Thanks Trisho!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | March 4, 2010 | Reply

  12. Looks great there. Still can’t see the forest for the snow here. Apparently, we pissed off something ancient and vengeful with out racuous partying or something.

    I’m sure once it all thaws and the yard is a muddy sinkhole, I’ll brighten up and stop complaining.

    Glad to hear the home team won the opening knife fight. It’s a long season, though, so just remind them to “take it one knife fight at a time.” Or “Stab one for the Gipper.” Or “RUDY! RUDY! RUDY!… Oh, shit. Someone stabbed Rudy.”

    Comment by Capitalist Lion Tamer | March 3, 2010 | Reply

    • Mother Nature is a bitch. I had no idea she could be so vengeful until after I cheated on her with Sister Hazel. God damn was she pissed!

      Yea unfortunately Rudy is out. And by out I mean dead. Turns out he was just to short and slow after all. He did have a lot of heart…until he got stabbed in it….

      Thanks CLT!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | March 3, 2010 | Reply

  13. Yes, I am ready for spring. Nice shots, the first one is compostionally interesting. Show us more.

    Comment by Fundamental Jelly | March 3, 2010 | Reply

    • I loved the first one too. The curve of the road and the contrast of the colors looked …interesting. Glad I’m getting an eye.

      Thanks FJ!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | March 3, 2010 | Reply

  14. what a coincidence, the dogs are fornicating here, too! Right outside my front door, in fact.

    Gorgeous shots, Scott. Like FJ says, show us more!

    Comment by bschooled | March 3, 2010 | Reply

    • I don’t think it’s a coincidence, I think it’s the Latin blood thing. Or the paella.

      I’m surprised I keep getting asked to show more. Usually when I start stripping on top of the bar I hear cries of “Less,” and “Please stop” and “Get the fuck out before I call the cops.”

      Thanks B!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | March 3, 2010 | Reply

  15. Very nice photos and an interesting read. I had no idea your waxed a mullet. I thought you spit shined a mullet and waxed a moped.

    Comment by Donald Mills | March 4, 2010 | Reply

    • I’ve learned so much since moving here. I’m thinking of writing a travel guide for southern Spain. This way no one will offend the local culture by offering to spit shine the wrong object.

      Thank Don!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | March 4, 2010 | Reply

  16. Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh. Thanks for that, Scott! The ocean shot with the sail boat is, well, ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.
    It was snowing today with a strong wind, again, and, man that boat looks great. We don’t have the gypsys, but the homeys can be a little scary, like that guy you wrote about in the trailer with the gun, in PA. I’m editing that book and will PDF pretty soon, after a quick polish. It will be a good spring read (I hope).

    Comment by Dan McGinley | March 4, 2010 | Reply

    • It’s usually a 40 minute ride down to the coast. Now, after the storms have destroyed half the roads it takes a little over an hour and a half. It’s still well worth it tho!

      Can’t wait to get the PDF, you did an amazing job!

      Thanks Dan!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | March 4, 2010 | Reply

  17. Blahahahha the British tourists…socks and sandal brigade! They won’t spit shine their mullets :)

    Comment by frigginloon | March 4, 2010 | Reply

    • Thankfully they aren’t as bad up here as they were in Florida. To see a 75 year old man in white short shorts with even whiter, stick legs wearing black,knee socks and white shoes…….agaghhahhgh!

      Thanks Frigginloon!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | March 4, 2010 | Reply

  18. oh how beautiful. I’m envious, it’s autumn here now which means daylight savings will end in a couple of weeks :-(

    It’s all downhill once that happens

    Comment by nursemyra | March 4, 2010 | Reply

    • I hate daylight savings time with a passion. I love the summer because it stays light until 10:15-ish, in the winter it starts getting dark at 6:30…even worse in France.

      I’m loving life right now!

      Thanks Nursemyra!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | March 4, 2010 | Reply

  19. I see why it has been so easy for you to stay there for so long…

    Lucky for you spring is in the air.
    Today’s forecast here: Cloudy with a chance of snow showers..UGH!

    Comment by Candy | March 4, 2010 | Reply

    • I hope the best for you Candy…it’ll turn around soon!

      It’s too easy to stay here, life is just …easy.

      Thanks Candy!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | March 4, 2010 | Reply

  20. If I sneak in here at the bottom and say “hi”, can I come back later and visit more?

    http://onlyatbarnhills.wordpress.com/

    Comment by Claire Collins | March 5, 2010 | Reply

    • Of course, anytime you’d like Claire. It’s great to see you again!

      Thanks Claire!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | March 5, 2010 | Reply

  21. I guess you post this shit to drive us crazy, to make us reach out and covet your world of beauty and mystique… well I ain’t gonna do it! Oh, who am I kidding, that looks awesome! I bet it takes many years to take it for granted. I should of done what you did. What did you do?

    Comment by Ramblin' Rooster | March 8, 2010 | Reply

    • I’ve finally learned to never take anything for granted Rooster. How did I do it? I married a British citizen who can live anywhere in the EU….which means I can as well. Niether of us knew that we were coming here tho, it just worked out. Italy is next! You can do it otherwise tho….just apply for visas and such.

      I want to live all over the world. Why not?

      Thanks Rooster!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | March 8, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

