Zodi’s Blog

The Homophobic Agenda

Before anybody gets their florescent green g-strings in a twist, let me start by saying that I have no problem with gay people. I think they should have the right to marriage, to adopt, and to name their own price on quality airfare!! I’ve liked practically every gay person I’ve ever met. Gay people are fun, they’re interesting, they’re full of life, they’re well….gay! 

 

I do have a huge, pink, thick problem that is practically bulging out of my hotpants though. My problem is with this sign that I came across while in London.

 

 homophobia is a crime picture

 

 

First of all, notice the look on their faces. I can see the photographer snapping away and coaching, “OK, look innocent but pouty. Good, good. Now bring some contempt for the poor heterosexuals out there, OK, now imagine someone is afraid of you, no, ok I got it- I need you to remember that time Tito accused you of getting herpes from Jesse, and even though you did blow Jesse, that was just a cold sore on your lip, not herpes! Bring that day of accusation and misery into your face!!! OHH, perfect, we’re gold, it’s a wrap!” 

 

Back to the sign. “Homophobia is a crime, report it!” –Tell me that’s not some freaky, scary, big brother, thought police type of shit!

 

 There are so many things wrong with the wording of this sign that I don’t even know where to start. Yes I do; first of all homophobia is NOT a crime, not even in Europe. It’s not even a crime to be filled with hatred, racism, sexism, bigotry, or stupidity. People are still free to be as ignorant as they choose. It may not be right, but it’s definitely not a crime either. 

 

Homophobia actually means – ‘fear of homosexuals.’ So how is fear a crime, anyway? Actions can be crimes. Feelings are not crimes.  Just to clarify this;

A)   You walk by a crowd of bronzed, athletic, properly exfoliated and moisturized young men wearing tight fitting fashionable clothes. Upon seeing them you feel a longing deep in your loins that you have desperately denied since that one time at bible camp. This feeling causes a ‘chubbing up’ which then causes you to feel angry, so you go home and grab your nearest AK-47. Then you rush out the door, head to the closest highway rest stop, and start making ‘them’ pay for their sinful wickedness. –This is a crime!

B)    You see the same group of young men, producing the same stiffening or movement in your shorts, causing you to rush home, read Leviticus quotes, and use hand sanitizer in disturbing ways until you feel that the demons have been exorcised from your nether regions. –NOT a crime! 

 

OK, so even if they did manage to pass a law regulating your own thoughts, feelings, and opinions, how exactly would they enforce a law that makes it illegal to have a phobia? Facial pattern detectors? Fingernail examinations checking for evidence of biting? Would they check to see who seeks shelter in the event of a rainbow outbreak? Monitor wedding receptions to see who sits down during “YMCA” and “It’s raining men?” 

 

If they found you guilty of having a phobia, what would be the punishment? Mandatory valium consumption? Patent leather boot-camp? Re-education weekends in Ibiza? 

 

My point is that you can’t legislate decency OR morality. Thank God that people are as free to be as fucked up as they want to be, it gives us so much more to make fun of and laugh at!!!!

June 23, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

9 Comments »

  1. I was totally with you up to gays naming their own price on quality airfare. That’s just ludicrous! Then I went back to agreeing with you, but then I started to think what this could mean for the future and other possible crimes. How about it’s against the law to not bathe, wear lip stick outside the lines of your lips, eat at McDonald’s or fart in an elevator? Come on people, we can get to the point that no one leaves the house ever again. Who’s with me? Hello? Honesetly that poster is criminal.

    Comment by Ramblin' Rooster | June 24, 2009 | Reply

    • Well now you’ve got me wavering. Maybe some of those would be good ideas. The bathing law. The fart law! If you came up with a set of laws that kept most people in their own homes all day, I’d worship you like a golden calf.
      As far as your first statement goes; it’s a well known fact that Thomas Jefferson was the first Priceline.com spokesman. Naming our own price is one of our inalienable rights my friend!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | June 24, 2009 | Reply

      • That’s typical talk for crazy people… alien rights? Who are you Martian man?

        Comment by Ramblin' Rooster | June 26, 2009 | Reply

  2. They could have picked out some WAY better looking gay dudes than that.

    Tom Cruise and John Travolta, just as an example.

    Comment by candice | June 24, 2009 | Reply

    • I did hear that Cruise had agreed to do it but the church elders in Clearwater nixed it. As for Travolta, I’m not sure he’s gay. You’re probably right though; no straight white man could ever dance like that.

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | June 24, 2009 | Reply

  3. My eyesight is getting really bad with my old age, but isn’t that one of the Coreys on the left, and Boy George on the right? Now *that* is a crime.

    I’m totally on board with making most people stay in their homes. The world would be a better place. Maybe Europe could outlaw idiocy. Then we could ship them some guns. Hilarity ensues!

    Comment by barelyknittogether | June 24, 2009 | Reply

    • BKT- Haim or Feldman? Are they multiplying again? Shit, somebody call the damn exterminator! Boy Goerge? It might be; it’s hard to recognize him without the needles and crackpipes.
      I’m seriously considering a bid for mayor of this small village. If I run and subsequently win, I’ll start here! I pledge to require a minimum IQ for driver’s licenses, internet use, and of course dating advice! The rest will work itself out!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | June 24, 2009 | Reply

  4. Those two guys…? They’re not gay. They each had sex with the Queen after me.

    And she wasn’t that type of queen.

    😀

    Comment by alantru | June 24, 2009 | Reply

    • Eew, eew, eew, I just threw up in my mouth, again. Are you sure about the Queen? I just heard she is a master with duct tape!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | June 24, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

