Zodi’s Blog

Wednesday’s Ruins

These are some of my favorite photos to take. You never really see this stuff in America. The first two stone structures are at least 600 hundred years old, probably older than that. I came upon one of them way up in the mountains in the middle of nowhere. I always think I’ll find some treasure hidden in the rubble. Maybe someday! The last two are right on the edge of the Mediterranean Sea, sitting abandoned for years, obviously. You would definitely not see that in the states. They all somehow bring out a childish wonder in me.

 

79

  

 

blog pics 077

 

  

blog pics 032

 

  

 

blog pics 028 

 

 

 

 

July 29, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , ,

21 Comments »

  1. Very cool Scott. Our ruins here on the west side of town can’t rival those. Cheers!!

    Comment by Matt-Man | July 29, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks Matt-Man. Although the ruins on the west side would make great photography as well. It’s just a bit more dangerous to get the shots.

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | July 29, 2009 | Reply

  2. whereabouts in Spain were these taken?

    Comment by nursemyra | July 29, 2009 | Reply

    • The first two were taken in the Sierra Nevada’s right behind the house in Cadiar. It’s small village in the province of Granada, southern Spain. The last two were right on the coast of Adra, still southern Spain. You can see the ocean from my house, but it’s a 40 minute drive because of the mountains.

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | July 29, 2009 | Reply

  3. Oooh. I always thought the first European country I’d like to visit would be Greece, or possibly Italy. But Spain is looking mighty appealing…I’ll just have to take a couple of months and go everywhere. We can stay with you when we’re in Spain, right? All five of us? Come on, it’ll be a blast!

    Comment by barelyknittogether | July 29, 2009 | Reply

    • BKT- Actually you probably can. If not free, then unbelievably cheap. I have friends with empty properties. I’ll take pics to show you! I can’t believe you had a doubt! You’d have to come see me anyway. That would be cool as hell!
      BTW- yea, if you come to Europe, you are going to want to see a lot. Plan about a month, at least.

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | July 29, 2009 | Reply

  4. Someone had a gorgeous view of the Mediterranian once upon a time, didn’t they?

    Comment by candice | July 29, 2009 | Reply

    • Candice, You wouldn’t believe some of the views. The crazy thing is probably 9/10’s of all the available beachfront space is either greenhouses, ruins, or completely empty. It’s nuts. I don’t know if it has something to do with zoning or what, but my ass is about to bribe whoever has to be bribed to make shit happen. Wait until you come and see it. It’ll blow your doors off!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | July 29, 2009 | Reply

  5. Do you put your hand on the walls and your mind races with thoughts of all of the people who have been there before you and touched that very wall?

    Comment by Claire Collins | July 30, 2009 | Reply

    • Claire, I don’t put my hands on the wall, but I do very much imagine all of those people. The house that we are living in right now in Cadiar is between 5 and 7 hundred years. You can’t help but imagine all of the people who were born, married, and died in between these very walls. I went into rooms of other places where as soon as you walk in you feel a bit, cold, nauseous, and angry. It is really freaky. Thanks darling, you just gave me another blog idea!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | July 30, 2009 | Reply

  6. Fabulous. I’ll say it again, you live in a lovely part of the world. (Clearwater, right?)

    I’m reminded of a beach I used to visit in Crete, to get to it I had to walk through an ancient fort. So damn cool!

    Comment by alantru | July 30, 2009 | Reply

    • I’m loving where I live; it’s all so unique and different from what we know! I do miss AC not though. And everything is on fire. But one quick drive down to the beach or to our new pool surrounded by lush plastic grass, and I forget all the problems. Except for the fire, because I can still see the smoke.
      Come and visit!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | July 31, 2009 | Reply

    • Oh, and I used to live on St. Pete Beach, a 20 minute drive from Clearwater. So if you ever find yourself in a jackpot there…………haha!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | July 31, 2009 | Reply

  7. Cool shots. Living on the detritus of millennia certainly has its advantages.

    Comment by fundamentaljelly | July 31, 2009 | Reply

    • There is just so much history here, it’s, it’s inconccceivable! Within the next few months we are taking a 3 week trip into Italy, in case we end up coming back home soon. I’m going to buy a new camera for that! Any suggestions?

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | July 31, 2009 | Reply

      • Although I have a Nikon SLR kit, I would say that at least half the shots that end up on my blog were shot with a Canon PowerShot point-n-shoot. They’re small and take great pictures.

        Comment by fundamentaljelly | July 31, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks FJ! Another friend recommended that as well, so I’ll start my online shopping!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | August 1, 2009 | Reply

  8. Nice.
    Isn’t it interesting how Europe has graffiti all over it, as if the people consider it to be art rather than a nuisance. Taggin’ ruins is a little low in my American opinion, but I enjoyed the photos all the same.

    Comment by Ramblin' Rooster | August 3, 2009 | Reply

    • They don’t like it here either, at least in Spain. What surprises me the most is all the empty beachfront. Half of it is ruins, the other half in greenhouses, all on beautiful beach. It makes me nuts.

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | August 3, 2009 | Reply

  9. Nut farms on the beach… I smell reality tv Emmy!

    Comment by Ramblin' Rooster | August 4, 2009 | Reply

    • You mean like asylums for lunatics…….SOLD! It’s time for another round of reality ideas!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | August 4, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

