Zodi’s Blog

Wicked Wednesday Caption Contest

 

 

 

blog pics 043

 Damien screamed when he entered the church.

 

 blog pics 070

The sun barely warmed my skin that August day.

 

  

blog pics 069

They mostly come out at night. Mostly.

 

 

 

 

It’s hard to be scary with all that sunshine, but for some reason each of those photos came out really creepy to me. I’m interested to see if any if you come up with a scarier or even a funny caption for one or more of the pics. So take a few stabs in the dark. I’ll announce a winner next Wednesday.

 

 

 

 

 

 

August 5, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , ,

34 Comments »

  1. Bats came streaming out of the belltower

    On that day the trees began to die

    Slowly the outhouse sank into the ground

    Comment by delicate flower | August 5, 2009 | Reply

    • Very good DF! Your entrees are entered! The second sounds like the opening line of a good book!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | August 5, 2009 | Reply

  2. I’ll have to think about the first two, but as for the last one:

    “And lo and behold…I had stumbled upon Dick Cheney’s undisclosed location.”

    Cheers Scott!!

    Comment by Matt-Man | August 5, 2009 | Reply

    • I’m pissed that I didn’t think of that first, damn it. Brilliant!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | August 5, 2009 | Reply

  3. Are you sure this is the French Maid?

    Where am I and wtf happened last night?

    My other house is a bungalow

    ps. I’ve added you to “the list”. It was the only logical thing to since we are going to be logistical together and all…

    Comment by bschooled | August 5, 2009 | Reply

    • If I had a nickel for every time I said, “Where am I and WTF happened last night?” I could buy a bungalow. Very nice!
      Thanks for the add! I’m going to have to meet your parents soon.

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | August 5, 2009 | Reply

  4. The church screamed as Damien entered it.

    E.T. always gets his finger in the way of the lens.

    Spanish church kiosk ca. 1794. Get your love juice here.

    Comment by barelyknittogether | August 5, 2009 | Reply

    • Awesome as you always are BKT! It took me a second to get the ET one. Good stuff!!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | August 5, 2009 | Reply

  5. I can’t help myself.

    As Obama signed the health care bill,
    the sun set upon the United States.

    ‘Buffalo Bill’s Family Tree’
    A portrait by Dr. Lector.

    The sad result when
    homelessness meets agoraphobia.

    Comment by Scott Oglesby | August 5, 2009 | Reply

  6. Okay … here is my stab at captions …

    It was a church so holy that its neighbors were kept awake at nights by the glow of its halo …

    The tree, tired of clothing itself in the greenery the world expected of it, decided to show its authentic self …

    I grew up in the basement of a one room shack, and at an early age came to expect all the crap that was being dumped on me …

    Cheers,
    Bill

    Comment by Bill Reed | August 5, 2009 | Reply

    • The bottom one is genius!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | August 5, 2009 | Reply

      • I guess one out of three ain’t bad …

        Comment by Bill Reed | August 5, 2009 | Reply

  7. 1. Catholic, Lutheran, Episcopalian — what difference does it make!? We need to get in there before that comet hits!

    2. You expect me to bury my nuts wayyyy up there? I think not!

    3. @wordlynerdly Sitting in outhouse now, wondering if this will post on Twitter…

    Comment by wordnerd45 | August 5, 2009 | Reply

    • Good stuff! I know I prefer to bury my nuts below my heart for circulation purposes.

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | August 6, 2009 | Reply

  8. 1. “And from far away, you could hear them singing “Closer to Thee, O God” right before the comet struck…

    2. This is what it looks like when evolution meets Creationism: Mother Nature gives God “the finger”.

    3. @wordlynerdly Could use some help getting the sand out of my ass crack — any takers? Anyone?

    Comment by wordnerd45 | August 6, 2009 | Reply

    • Either Dick Cheney or the vampires will be glad to help; neither one likes to get sand in their teeth!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | August 6, 2009 | Reply

      • I suppose a sandpaper thong would be entirely out of the question then, huh?

        The Nerd

        Comment by wordnerd45 | August 6, 2009 | Reply

  9. Pic #1- “Despite the celestial glow, God’s not in there.”

    Pic #2- “I’m not sure, it started out with a canker, then verticillium wilt set in, next was fullblown sooty mold, but I still think it might just be bag worms.”

    Pic #3- “And on the right is home to Ramblin’ Rooster, the delightfully delusional and infamous narcissist.”

    Comment by Ramblin' Rooster | August 6, 2009 | Reply

    • All terrific and thoughtful answers; unlike some people with riddle contests. I wonder… A- who would be guiding that tour, and B- what would I charge?

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | August 6, 2009 | Reply

  10. If you stare at the sun around a church, will you still go blind? If you masterbate IN the church, will you still go blind?

    I told you not to pee on the tree.

    Hurry! Get in the building with the white cross on the side. The zombies can’t get you in there! Yes, I know it has a flimsy wood door. I don’t know why the zombies can’t get in. Anyway, just get your ass in there and wait. It’s only big enough for one of us. I’m going back a couple of blocks. I think I saw this big church with a halo. If it’s true, I’ll come back and get you…

    Comment by Claire Collins | August 6, 2009 | Reply

    • Hahaha, all very good answers my darling Claire! Yes, yes you did tell me not to pee on the tree. BUT, if you didn’t make our dinners so salty this wouldn’t keep happening. I am like a walking farmer’s vengeance!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | August 6, 2009 | Reply

      • I’m using sea salt. What else would I feed a Fish?

        Comment by Claire Collins | August 7, 2009 | Reply

  11. I really like the Church photo!

    Comment by Vicki | August 6, 2009 | Reply

    • Wait until you see them on facebook. For some reason I couldn’t get them to link properly (to allow them to enlarge) on wordpress. All three are lovely shots! I love these churches in Europe!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | August 6, 2009 | Reply

      • Iknow exactly what you mean … when I posted “A Peaceful Day in the Woods,” my first thought was “Is that it.” 😦

        Comment by Bill Reed | August 6, 2009 | Reply

      • I’ll check it our on your FB page! Thanks!

        Comment by Vicki | August 7, 2009 | Reply

  12. 1. Quasimodo gets his shine on!

    2. Mom always told Elmer that the he was dead wood.

    3. “Really,” said the real estate agent, “it looks much bigger inside.”

    Comment by Bill Reed | August 7, 2009 | Reply

    • Those damn stinking real estate agents get you every time!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | August 7, 2009 | Reply

  13. 1. The lights were on, but no one was home (Atheist Caption)

    2. “The Tree surgeon says that this limb has to go, but I’m asking for a second opinion!”

    3. Ceaser’s Maturbatorium is one of the few remaining reminders of his stay in Gaul.

    Comment by Bill Reed | August 7, 2009 | Reply

  14. Good effort, all entries have been logged in.

    Comment by Scott Oglesby | August 7, 2009 | Reply

  15. An elderly American couple looking up at a Spanish Church. “I wish I had eaten the fruit cup instead of that horrible pudding.”

    Same elderly couple staring at a dead tree in Spain, “I just thought the food would be more like Mexican food.”

    Same elderly couple staring at a small Spanish outbuilding, “You’d think these people could make a decent goddamn margarita.”

    Comment by fundamentaljelly | August 8, 2009 | Reply

    • Hahahaha, hilarious!- “I told you we should’ve went to France or Italy. Our hotel doesn’t even have AC! Damn barbarians!”

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | August 8, 2009 | Reply

    • Well done FJ! You were standing there and overheard all of those conversations didn’t you?

      Comment by Claire Collins | August 9, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

