Zodi’s Blog

Ban Divorce in California

I love it! John Marcotte, a Sacramento web designer has begun a campaign to outlaw divorce in California. The campaign is designed mostly as a comedic statement to hold California voters to their own high biblical standard after they passed Proposition 8 which outlawed gay marriage in 2008. 

                                                                                                                                                     

Although I’ve never personally been a political activist, I always thought that I would have been deeply involved in the civil rights campaigns in the 50’s and 60’s. It’s has dawned on me that although this fight isn’t nearly as violent, it is just as important. Does anyone really believe that people can choose to be gay now anymore than they chose to be black back then? In this age of supposed enlightenment, how can we still deny equal rights to all people?

The arguments are as usual, all about the bible. The same type of people who use it now to fight for gay marriage bans have used it in the past to condone slavery. They used to use the bible as judge, jury and executioner. They’ve used it to stone and burn people to death because of its words. God says homosexuality is an abomination? It also says that eating fucking shellfish is an abomination. For once, someone is actually doing something to hold these hypocrites to their own standards, and I applaud it.

I’m sure that the 70% of the ultra religious blacks and Latinos who voted in favor of prop 8 will have no problem voting for this newest infringement of rights considering their own divorce rate is so high. It would only help. The right wing Christians will surely all sign the petition since it is exactly what God wants. Other than infidelity (by the woman) there are no other legal grounds for divorce in God’s holy law. All sin is the same in Gods eyes right? So unless your wife was doing the landscaping crew, isn’t being divorced living in sin as well? Because even if you remarry the same person, you have still been divorced. The homosexuals can at least turn away from their supposed sin in the moment before death. But once you’re divorced you can’t ever escape that sin.

There is also the common argument that marriage and divorce is entirely up to the church. Well, that is perfectly fine, as long as we completely untangle federal and state law from the clutches of ‘church’ marriage. Having access to health insurance, end of life decisions and every other ‘partnership’ issue should simply be contingent upon a signed and notarized document handed into your local town hall.

If people want to deny other people basic human rights based on the bible then fine, but they should be forced to live by the exact same set of standards. I’m all for supporting other bans as well. Let’s ban two different crops being planted in the same field. Let’s ban wearing cloths made of two different fabrics. Let’s ban working on the sacred Sabbath. We can bring back the good old days but this time without the pestilence and plagues.     

I urge anyone who is in support of this ban to sign the petition if they live in California or it becomes available online. You can show your support as well by buying a T-shirt here… http://rescuemarriage.org/.  You can’t pick and choose your sacred laws people. So let’s make this thing happen and party like its 0099!

*Don’t forget about my caption contest below, just because I interrupted its spot at the top. This was just too good for me to pass up.

December 1, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

34 Comments »

  1. That campaign is brilliant. I’m pushing for one to outlaw Red Lobster and their all you can eat shrimp night. Shellfish are an abomination like fornicators.

    Fun post.

    Comment by David | December 1, 2009 | Reply

    • I agree with you completely about Red Lobster. Aside from shellfish being an abomination, there food has been complete garbage for the last 10 years. Sold!

      Thanks David!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | December 2, 2009 | Reply

  2. That was so gay. You know I’m joking . . . it’s funny, because my wife and I were discussing this world of hypocracy yesterday, and it seems to be rampant now, where words just suit the speaker for their own personal needs. Your blog touched on a perfect example, and we could fill volumes. The guy I used to work for said he would never let his daughter date a black man, than he hops on the Obama wagon and talks about how tolerant our nation has become, especially around work. Outside of work . . . different story. It’s a fucking virus! Great tee shirt, great blog, Great Scott!

    Comment by Dan McGinley | December 1, 2009 | Reply

    • No, you’re soo gay. In another 100 years people are going to look back at us and think we were ……well, what we basically are. Just as we wonder how people could have owned other people, they’re going to wonder how we could be filled with so much bigotry. I guess it is human nature after all, and people have always used the bible, Torah, Koran, and other ‘holy’ books to make themselves feel superior.

      Thanks Dan!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | December 2, 2009 | Reply

  3. Oh! Oh! How can an countless number of priests perform that “Holy” ritual of marriage, then go out and rape a married couple’s child? Sorry Scott . . . you got my coffee driven blood boiling . . .

    Comment by Dan McGinley | December 1, 2009 | Reply

    • Ah yes, but you’re missing an important distinction; when they engage in pedophilia and rape it’s just a one off even if it’s a hundred times, but if they chose to live as a dirty homosexual they’d be living a life of sin. I hope I was able to clear that up for you.

      Thanks Dan!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | December 2, 2009 | Reply

  4. Rush Limbaugh, Newt Gingrich and Rudy Giuliani, all several times divorced, will all come out in favor of this idea.

    Comment by Jay | December 1, 2009 | Reply

    • You think? I disagree personally, I think that they will yammer something about this being a low-brow joke by the hippie liberals and/or completely ignore it. Although they pander to the religious, we both know that they are not; they just want the votes/power/money. The ones who will truly be caught in the trap are the Christian Coalition types. I seriously hope this actually makes it to the polls.

      Thanks Jay!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | December 2, 2009 | Reply

  5. Ah don’t get me started!!! Bottom line is whatever makes you happy. Life is too short for all this bureaucratic, moralistic bullshit.

    Comment by frigginloon | December 1, 2009 | Reply

    • Damn, I was trying to get you started. I couldn’t agree with you more. If people stopped worrying about other people and just lived their own lives, this would be such a happier place.

      Thanks Frigginloon!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | December 2, 2009 | Reply

  6. Love it!! I just don’t understand how the state of california can claim bankruptsy and then in the same breath ban gay marriage. Do they not realize all of the potential revenue that they are missing out on?

    As far as religious views, you and I both know I’m already going to hell in a hand-basket, Mrs. D told me that in the 8th grade 🙂 I could go off the handle in so many ways about this, but the bottom line is that nobody should be allowed to determine who grow old with.

    Fuck, we should just ban marriage 100% and fuck the whole country out of their ridiculous taxation practices and put about 250,000 attorneys out of job.

    Great blog Scott. I’m buying a whole bunch of those shirts and giving them out as Christmas presents!

    Comment by tlwshoemaker | December 1, 2009 | Reply

    • Prop 8 passed in Cali because the sponsors of the amendment successfully were able to combine the right wing religious vote with the black and Latino vote by playing on their silly superstitions and appealing to the lowest common denominator in man; the desire to be above someone else.

      Don’t worry Tammie, if there is a hell, you aren’t going anywhere near it, and even if you were, I’d be holding your hand the whole way.

      I think that they should just make up their minds about marriage. If it’s a religious union then it should have no bearing whatsoever on anything else, if it’s a legal union then everyone is entitled to it. They can’t have it both ways.

      Thanks Tammie!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | December 2, 2009 | Reply

  7. Hear, hear!! Organized religion drives me nuts. Any religion that allows you to do what you want all week, then just show up to confession/church and all is forgiven? That is just screwy!

    Comment by Reb | December 1, 2009 | Reply

    • In my opinion it’s all pretty screwy, when you actually read the bible it is very easy to see that it was a way for rich Jewish leaders to control the population. I mean everything from the sacrifices to the holy days was ‘borrowed’ from pagan religions. If there is a God (and I actually believe that there is) do you really think he’d want people to burn animals just so he’d have a pleasing aroma? It’s all so hilarious.

      Thanks Reb!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | December 2, 2009 | Reply

  8. I love this post, Scott. Lord knows (Ha! Punny) I could go on and on about this topic, but you said it better than I could have myself.

    Hypocrisy is a funny thing, isn’t it?

    Comment by bschooled | December 2, 2009 | Reply

    • I don’t think that there is much that I can say better than you could. You are the best at saying stuff. I love hypocrisy almost and much as I love puns.

      Thanks B!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | December 2, 2009 | Reply

      • Hey, maybe we should start a hypocrisy/pun greeting card/joke company.

        “Did you hear about the religious hypocrite whose whole left side was cut off? He’s all right now…”

        (Ok, it still needs a little tweaking)

        Comment by bschooled | December 3, 2009 | Reply

        • Tweaking? My God that’s gold B. Gold! I’m completely sold on this hypocrisy/pun greeting card/joke company. We’ll make millions, which we can blow on blow and tweaking. – Now that, needs some tweaking…

          Thanks B!!

          Comment by Scott Oglesby | December 3, 2009 | Reply

  9. Excellent work, Scott. If there’s anything religious hypocrites love, it’s being hypocritical. That and being unwilling to defend their views logically. Sooner or later (and it’s usually sooner) they just pull out the “God says so and since I’m quoting him, I’m right” excuse to shut down any further discussion.

    Pussies.

    Comment by Capitalist Lion Tamer | December 2, 2009 | Reply

    • Ha, that’s the thing CLT; they can’t defend their views logically, because there is so little logic in the bible. The great thing about it is that you can use the bible against them in so many ways. It’s like beating a man with his own fist. Pussies indeed!

      Thanks CLT!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | December 2, 2009 | Reply

  10. If there is a God, then it’s his fault for making us think and feel the way we do! He should come down right here this minute and face us like a man (or woman) and bring that scaredy cat Tiger with him! You boys have got some explaining to do!

    Comment by frigginloon | December 2, 2009 | Reply

    • Oh my God, you just made me realize something. Have you ever seen God and Tiger in the same room together?……No? Well neither have I! Maybe they are one and the same, which would explain a lot. Did you ever notice how when Tiger gets pissy, the weather always turns nasty? And how else can you explain his short game! Wow, this changes everything! He still has some ‘splainin to do though.

      Thanks Frigginloon!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | December 2, 2009 | Reply

  11. this is why the catholics invented the scapula…. just wear one round your neck at all times and when you die you’re automatically absolved of all your sins… even divorce

    Comment by nursemyra | December 2, 2009 | Reply

    • I need one of those, pronto.

      Thanks Nursemyra!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | December 2, 2009 | Reply

  12. Would divorce be permitted if say a married man discovered that he was gay. Would his wife be able to divorce him? If not, she is involved in a gay marriage. Oh my, the legal questions that this raises. Cheers Scott!!

    Comment by Matt-Man | December 2, 2009 | Reply

    • Dude, you just made my head implode. Yes, I said implode. I guess then that the couple, their first cousins, and the neighbors should be put to death. Or maybe a burnt offering? I can’t decide.

      Thanks Matt-Man!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | December 2, 2009 | Reply

  13. Love the t-shirt and the hypocrisy drives me batty. Funny stuff.

    Comment by fundamentaljelly | December 2, 2009 | Reply

    • You and me both. I wish this whole thing was my idea. It’ll never go through, but at least it shows them for what they are.

      Thanks FJ!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | December 2, 2009 | Reply

  14. party like it’s 0099!! I adore you Scott

    Comment by dianne | December 2, 2009 | Reply

    • Wow Dianne, I just looked at my stats and you were my 2000th commenter! I’ll have to figure out a prize of some sort. Thanks, I adore you too!

      Thanks Dianne!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | December 3, 2009 | Reply

  15. That’s a great campaign and an excellent post. Well done.

    Comment by Donald Mills | December 3, 2009 | Reply

    • I agree, the campaign is brilliant. Thanks for the compliments as well.

      Thanks Don!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | December 3, 2009 | Reply

  16. I think the rest of the union should vote for California to be banned from the USA. Let it be its own country.

    Comment by Ramblin' Rooster | December 7, 2009 | Reply

    • One of these days Rooster, one of these days.

      Thanks Rooster!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | December 7, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

