Zodi’s Blog

Winner/Bonus Photo/New Caption Contest

           

 And the winner is…….

  

 

        

Jay with….“Jimbo and Shastina seemed to have it all. Looks, money and the most awesome pet parrot in the world. Then one day it all when horribly wrong. After a night of partying, Max the Parrot went into a drunken, drug fueled rage after listening to Cole Porter albums backwards and murdered both Jimbo and Shanstina in their sleep.”       

I just couldn’t resist the image of the parrot killing the couple. I’m sick like that.           

Bonus Photo….. 

 

A sunset from my old dock in Florida. I'm a sappy sucker for sunsets.

New Caption Contest….. 

 

I’m telling you Jimbo, that is part of the rationale that the Fed espouses with its low interest rate regime. Not only does it allow banks to repair their balance sheets, it also encourages investors to put money into riskier assets in order to get some return on their investments. Over $260 billion has gone into bond funds this year, and just $2.6 billion into stock funds. However, you have to balance that with the fact that some $400 billion has left money market funds paying less than 0.2%. So there is some movement to capture yield. Then we can buy us some more brews!!

Sorry for using the same photo twice in two posts, but this was way too good to pass up. Anyway, just beat my caption to win international recognition, a stunning blue link and your own ‘porch potty!’                              

        

 

January 15, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , ,

30 Comments »

  1. Your caption will be hard to beat this time, mi amigo. I just had a flash of Bubba looking out at that Florida sky down in the Keys . . . he could cast for Coleman, except the trailor would have to be rust colored . . .

    . . . this will be a tough one; I’ll be back later. Great pics!

    Comment by Dan McGinley | January 15, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks buddy, I enjoyed that one myself. But since I can never win my own contest (it would make it look rigged) you have plenty of chances.
      Ah yes, this was the land of Serge! How can you not love it?

      Thanks Dan!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | January 15, 2010 | Reply

      • Okay . . . B is going to be hard to beat, but here goes:

        “Ahm tellin’ ya, it’s a monster! Lemme jus’ take this cell camera and get you a picture!”

        Classic picture; great contest; keep up the killer blog!

        Comment by Dan McGinley | January 16, 2010 | Reply

        • That’s a good idea in real life too. You know, I’m always bragging about my umm….. ‘bathroon skill set’ for lack of a better phrase. Anyway, yea I’ll just take a picture next time.

          Thanks Dan!!

          Comment by Scott Oglesby | January 16, 2010 | Reply

  2. “Can you hear me now?”

    ps. Gorgeous photo, Scott. It’s so beautiful that it almost doesn’t look real…

    Comment by bschooled | January 15, 2010 | Reply

    • Good caption B….apt, applicable and funny! When I bought that camera for my wife, I also bought her this cool notebook from Barnes and Noble and the idea was to take a pic of the sunset every night for a year. I ended up doing it myself instead, sporadically for a couple months. I was able to get about 15 or 20 that are just blow your doors off beautiful. We lived on the intercoastal with the actual Treasure Island beach just a ¼ of a mile away. So beautiful….I miss it sooo much…..sob…

      Thanks B!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | January 15, 2010 | Reply

    • Ha! You nailed it!

      Comment by Dan McGinley | January 16, 2010 | Reply

  3. I’ve got nothing for the redneck photo, but I LOVE the sunset bonus photo. I love sunsets as well.

    It’s a stunning one, Scotty boy!

    Comment by Candice | January 15, 2010 | Reply

    • Ditto, excellent photo…

      Comment by Dave Hambidge | January 15, 2010 | Reply

      • Great to see you Dave, and I’m glad you stopped by!

        Thanks Dave!!

        Comment by Scott Oglesby | January 16, 2010 | Reply

    • I guess that we are both spiritual romantics at heart. That’s a good thing, I think!

      Thanks Candice!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | January 16, 2010 | Reply

  4. “Whadda ya mean ya’ll can see me?”

    Lovely sunset.

    Comment by Reb | January 15, 2010 | Reply

    • Nice job with the caption…and thanks!

      Thanks Reb!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | January 16, 2010 | Reply

  5. “I’m fixin to head to walmarts. I need to pick me up some pork rinds for the NFL playoff games this weekend.”

    Comment by Jay | January 15, 2010 | Reply

    • Great caption, Jay! Killer parrots!

      Comment by Dan McGinley | January 16, 2010 | Reply

    • Another contender Jay. You are a Caption phenom! Just don’t go getting 12 mistresses now.

      Thanks Jay!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | January 16, 2010 | Reply

  6. Oh, and I think that if we tried, we could make Parrots just as scary and murderous as clowns. If you think about it, they’re pretty freaky already.

    Comment by Jay | January 15, 2010 | Reply

    • While I agree that Parrots are indeed scary and murderous (don’t forget I grew up in Pittsburgh during the Pirate’s ‘drug years’ and the Parrot was no abstainer, let me assure you) I don’t think they’ll ever scare me as much as those fucking clowns. Stephen King’s ‘It’ was the final nail in the ‘evil clowns’ coffin for me.

      Thanks Jay!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | January 16, 2010 | Reply

  7. Aww now Lilly bums, come on, don’t run on now givin me all that pile your same ol’shit, I gots my own right here an’ I’s fixin to flush it away.

    Comment by Micky-T | January 15, 2010 | Reply

    • Haha, good one Micky. You think that thing actually flushes though?

      Thanks Micky!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | January 16, 2010 | Reply

  8. A well deserved win Jay! You should go into the greeting card business

    Comment by nursemyra | January 15, 2010 | Reply

    • I’ve been trying to lure him into a lucrative contract to partner with myself and B for awhile now.

      Thanks Nursemyra!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | January 16, 2010 | Reply

  9. Yo plumber? I kinda flushed while still taking a dump, now me butt won’t budge.

    Comment by frigginloon | January 16, 2010 | Reply

    • Wow that is a strong suctioning force!

      Thanks Frigginloon!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | January 17, 2010 | Reply

  10. “That’s bullshit Tommy the Feds ain’t got squat, we deliberately put this trailer on our ancestral meth-cooking grounds.

    Comment by fundamentaljelly | January 16, 2010 | Reply

    • That’s awesome FJ! There is nothing more sacred to a redneck than their ancestral meth-cooking grounds. I’m going to now use that phrase on every possible occasion!

      Thanks FJ!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | January 17, 2010 | Reply

  11. We caught up with The Tea Party candidate for President in 2012 at his campaign headquarters. Red Woody Johnson promises to stay on the phone until Sarah Palin agrees to be his running mate.

    Comment by dianne | January 16, 2010 | Reply

    • Great one Dianne! Knowing my political slant will get you far in this game!

      Thanks Dianne!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | January 17, 2010 | Reply

  12. “Dwayne immediately called Guinness, (after Daryl and BobbyJoe) to report the success of ‘Shitting a Brick’.”

    Comment by Ramblin' Rooster | January 18, 2010 | Reply

    • I think you hit the redneck nail on the head…or on the brick. Love the names too.

      Thanks Rooster!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | January 18, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

