Zodi’s Blog

Winner/Bonus Shot/New Caption Contest

And the winner is….  

  

Matt-Man with, “Mom!?  Dad!?  Tommy’s pet rabbit has been in Barry Bonds’ yard again!!” And Frigginloon with, “I see dead rabbits.” Another twofer this week so they have Solomon’s parable to deal with. Will they cut the kitten in half? I hope not….. 

Bonus shot….

    

This is Paco. Paco is just one of my spectacularly drunken (and lovable) Spanish neighbors. There are many more men named Paco. And there are many more spectacularly drunken neighbors. 

 

 

 New caption contest….

“Listen up you two. I just found out that Santa is fake, the Easter Bunny got hit by a car, and Jesus hates us and wants us to die. But daddy said if we don’t take a nice picture then he’s going to shoot Fido. Ok, ready,…smile!”

Just beat my caption to win a bright blue link, international recognition and your chance for bible lessons from a Zen master. -That’s me.

April 21, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , ,

54 Comments »

  1. Ha! I see dead rabbits. Perfect.

    Comment by Pamela Villars | April 21, 2010 | Reply

  2. Haha, you gotta love those early 80s bowl/helmet cuts. They were universally loved by mothers of both boys and girls.

    Comment by Mrs. D | April 21, 2010 | Reply

    • I know I rocked one for about 4 years before I learned what was not working for me.

      Thanks Mrs. D!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | April 21, 2010 | Reply

  3. “I think I’m going to go into the priesthood. And, I’m going to start practicing right after this picture is taken.”

    Comment by Jay | April 21, 2010 | Reply

    • THAT IS AWESOME!!! Jay, you are a genius!

      Comment by Mrs. D | April 21, 2010 | Reply

    • He is definitely enjoyed his brothers terror way too much. Can’t be healthy…

      Thanks Jay!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | April 21, 2010 | Reply

  4. Yay for me. I want to thank the Academy and Barry Bonds’ ever growing hat size. Now for this one? hmmmmm. Must ruminate. Cheers and Thanks Scott!!

    Comment by Matt-Man | April 21, 2010 | Reply

    • I think Kayne was about it interrupt you until he saw Barry getting ‘ragey.’ You deserved it brutha!

      Thanks Matt-Man!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | April 21, 2010 | Reply

  5. Got one…”Spock was unaware of his own strength when he was but a child.”

    Cheers Spock..er…Scott!!

    Comment by Matt-Man | April 21, 2010 | Reply

    • Perfect again. I was waiting for a Vulcan death grip comment.

      Thanks again!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | April 21, 2010 | Reply

  6. i already love paco and that breathtaking door behind him! wish i could see the whole building though. can you work on getting a wider shot to us scott?

    Comment by Lynn | April 21, 2010 | Reply

    • Ha! That’s my house Lynn. And we must be on the same wavelength because I’m taking pics of a bunch of doors and entryways in Cadiar to put in 2 or 3 upcoming photo posts.

      Thanks Lynn!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | April 21, 2010 | Reply

    • wow, thanks for being so accomodating to your loyal readers, look forward to that upcoming post! 🙂

      Comment by Lynn | April 22, 2010 | Reply

  7. “Ha, I get to live with grandma. You two get to live with mommy and her new boyfriend.”

    Comment by jammer5 | April 21, 2010 | Reply

    • I remember from my own childhood that grandma always had the best medicine cabinet treats ever.

      Thanks Jammer!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | April 22, 2010 | Reply

  8. I had a drunken neighbor once. Every day he would walk down to the Arkansas river with a bottle of Jack, a fishing pole and whatever bait he used, and every day he would come back with no fish and a serious buzz on. Then one day he acme walking back with a catfish that must have weighed over sixty pounds. That was the only time I ever saw him actually smile.

    Comment by jammer5 | April 21, 2010 | Reply

    • During my life in Florida I had dozens of neighbors just like that. Although Florida being Florida they would occasionally catch fish. And on even more occasions they would fall of their docks. I had to pull one out of the intercoastal one day. I miss Florida….

      Thanks Jay!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | April 22, 2010 | Reply

  9. The secret power of Jethro’s electrified fingertips was becoming impossible to hide

    Comment by nursemyra | April 21, 2010 | Reply

    • Very nice, they blondes do look pretty tazed.

      Thanks Nursemyra!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | April 22, 2010 | Reply

  10. I love Paco! He looks like someone I could see myself being neighbors with. I mean, as long as he isn’t a spectacularly mean drunk and doesn’t keep me up all night with his loud flamenco dancing and all.

    Congratulations, Matt-Man and FL!!

    I’ll have to come back for the caption. (You know me, I need to obsess compulsively over the photo for a few hours before making any rash submissions…)

    Comment by bschooled | April 21, 2010 | Reply

    • You must love Paco and pick Paco up when Paco falls; these are two of the laws of the land. No, he is the nicest, happiest drunk I’ve ever seen in my life. My other neighbor goes apeshit mad within an hour of his trip to the bottom of a barrel of vino though. Then he screams at the top of his lungs for hours. He’s not so lovable. But you must meet Paco. Paco is Yoda.

      I’ll hope to see you back shortly. Remember, Paco is counting on you.

      Thanks B!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | April 22, 2010 | Reply

  11. Caption-

    Jack and his other brother Jack just couldn’t take the humiliation of the bowl haircuts any longer. Unfortunately, their gay big brother just couldn’t seem to figure out what all the futh wath about.

    Comment by Candice | April 22, 2010 | Reply

    • I love the references in this one Candice. I got some Newhart (classic) and some South Park. Good shit!

      Thanks Candice!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | April 22, 2010 | Reply

  12. Paco – Caption “wun too tree ..I smile for whiskey”

    Comment by Susi Spice | April 22, 2010 | Reply

    • Paco smiles for any alcohol, or anything else. Paco is a compulsive smiler.

      Thanks Susi!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | April 22, 2010 | Reply

  13. I dont know if I want to try and beat your caption – i love it!
    I also love how the boy in the back has his right hand placed perfectly just-so on his brother’s shoulders – delectable! He let things slip with his left hand though and went for the oh-so-casual placement – points deducted for that

    Comment by RubyTwoShoes | April 22, 2010 | Reply

    • Well there you go then. You have a caption in there somewhere. Maybe the formalcies (not a word…damnit) of posing…

      Thanks RubyTwoShoes!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | April 22, 2010 | Reply

  14. Caption for the boys:

    “yeah I just bitch slapped you two pussies while mom didnt see…who’s cuter now?.. he he he”

    Comment by Susi Spice | April 22, 2010 | Reply

    • Wow you’re getting all cutting edge up in here. I like this!

      Thanks Susi!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | April 22, 2010 | Reply

  15. Congrats Matt-Man and Frigginloon! Love Paco’s upbeat drunkeness. Makes me want to fall on/off the wagon. (I’m not sure which direction is “drinking again.”)

    Caption attempt:

    “And now we know who’s adopted.”

    Comment by Capitalist Lion Tamer | April 22, 2010 | Reply

    • Let’s see….people tend to fall down or off of things when they’re drunk. Then again…does the wagon serve alcohol? If so if you got on the wagon…nevermind, over my head. We should all just aspire to Paco.

      Thanks CLT!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | April 22, 2010 | Reply

  16. hahaha!
    I think yours is the winna!

    Oh, geezzz.. I can’t beat the “I see dead rabbits” one, either.

    Comment by Candy | April 22, 2010 | Reply

    • But I’m not allowed to win. Thanks for the support and love though. I see dead rabbits was killer.

      Thanks Candy!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | April 22, 2010 | Reply

  17. Congrats to the winners

    Paco looks a lot like the guys who hang out at the Italian cafe in Brooklyn, they’re all named Sal

    Jay RULES this week’s caption

    Comment by dianne | April 22, 2010 | Reply

    • Yea I grew up in a ‘Sal’ neighborhood. Sal, Tony, or Mario that was it. But they didn’t get this drunk only loud.

      Thanks Dianne!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | April 22, 2010 | Reply

  18. I go nothing caption-wise, I feel like I spent the day with Paco…nice portrait btw.

    Comment by Fundamental Jelly | April 23, 2010 | Reply

    • I was thinking Paco would have made one hell of an interesting Picasso or Van Gogh painting.

      Thanks FJ!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | April 23, 2010 | Reply

  19. grotty scotty when u coming to aus to visit me and loony?? 😀

    Comment by Susi Spice | April 23, 2010 | Reply

    • That would be great. I’ll try to make it within the year, since I probably only have a year left in Europe. After that I’ll be even further away. I should just move to OZ!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | April 23, 2010 | Reply

  20. Ha! Steriods would do it! I’ve been dosing hard on prednisone for that poison ivy, and it’s a nasty steriod. No muscles, but my temper is always ready to go. That rabbit is a killer. Great post . . . I’d love to tip a few with the Pacos. Maybe not. He looks funny, though, and quick to smile. I’ll think about the new caption. This made my morning laughter quota! Thanks, Scott!

    Comment by Dan McGinley | April 23, 2010 | Reply

    • You should be hitting the weights since you’re on that stuff anyway. I took one cycle back when I played in high school. I had so much energy I didn’t even need to sleep but my temper became an issue. I never took them again because of that. Makes you nutso.

      You’d love Paco!

      Thanks Dan!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | April 23, 2010 | Reply

  21. “Little did they know that their seemingly innocent son had mastered the art of the “Vulcan Death Grip.””

    Comment by bschooled | April 23, 2010 | Reply

    • Wow you came back! And with a serious contender.

      Way to go b!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | April 23, 2010 | Reply

  22. “Tommy’s two younger brothers were both disheartened to learn that only ONE out of every three males born on average are to be endowed with a huge penis….”

    Comment by HEFF | April 24, 2010 | Reply

    • That’s pretty freaking good Heff!

      Thanks Heff!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | April 24, 2010 | Reply

  23. Hey, it’s what I do, lol !

    Comment by HEFF | April 24, 2010 | Reply

    • Then you’re coming to the right place.

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | April 24, 2010 | Reply

  24. i missed the period at first and thought your neighbor was named Paco Paco. Needless to say, I was disappointed to find out it was only one Paco. If I was his neighbor I’d called him Paco Paco.

    “Little Johnny had kept his Vulcanian identity a secret by an ingenious haircut; however his cover was blown when photos of his infamous double Vulcan nerve pinch started to circulate.”

    Comment by Ramblin' Rooster | April 26, 2010 | Reply

    • You are dead right, from this day for Paco shall be forever known as Paco Paco. Coolest. Name. Ever!

      Love your caption too, we all have to be wary of those childhood phots coming back to bite us.

      Thanks Rooster!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | April 26, 2010 | Reply

  25. It’s about time I friggin won something blahahahaha

    “OK, I was born without legs but I can still pinch like a biatch!”

    Comment by frigginloon | April 26, 2010 | Reply

    • You deserved it. The lobster boy?

      Thanks Loon!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | April 27, 2010 | Reply

  26. Sophie’s Choice!!!!!

    Comment by frigginloon | April 26, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

