Zodi’s Blog

Wait, Who Are You(?) Awkwardity

One of the most uncomfortable and, wait for it…. awkward situations that have occurred far too frequently in my life occur when a person knows me and I don’t have a clue who in the hell they are. I don’t know if it is due to the fact that I used to party a lot. And when I say ‘party’ I mean all that stuff that those PSA’s tell you will give you short term memory loss which is just a fancy way of saying that they’ll make you retarded. And when I say ‘a lot’ I mean ‘alot.’ Which is how I should write based on how many drugs I’ve done.

 

Luckily I mostly did the kind of drug that makes you stand in the kitchen and talk into the camera saying, “this is your brain on drugs…” while frying up some nice eggs and maybe even a peanut butter and jelly sandwich because those are delicious when you’re high, but I never did the kind of drugs that make you look aggressively into the camera and then unexpectedly start smashing up your kitchen with a cast iron frying pan for no discernable reason. I think meth makes you do that. I also think that meth causes you to lay witness to an ugly, anorexic, bleedy, baldy, corpsey, naked version of yourself in the shower. So it’s good that I’ve never done meth because I’d probably destroy my kitchen with a cast iron frying pan in a hysteric fit of ragey panic if I saw the naked, corpsey, shower Me.

  

Shower Me scares the shit out of me.

 

 

 I’ve also never done the kind of drug that makes you get all dick sucky when you feel you need more of it. I guess I pretty much suck balls at being a drug addict, except without all the ball sucking because if I were doing the ball sucking, I would, ironically, not suck balls at being a drug addict. I’d be good at it.

 

Sorry, I got off track before I even started the train. See what drugs do to you? I was just saying that I’ve done enough drugs in my life to basically have turned into Leonard from Momento except without all the tats and I couldn’t remember to remember Sammy Jankis because I can’t remember to remember anybody.

 

I remember that remembering people started to become a problem in my early 20’s when random people would just walk up to me like we were BFF’s or even frenemies and babble on about some nonsense regarding their lives/parents/baby mama drama or some such shit. But I wouldn’t have the slightest inkling of who they were. The only feeling I felt was one telling me that if they were telling me about their baby mama drama then I should have known who they were and I was left hoping that I wasn’t about to be told that I was, in fact, the baby mama.

She’s my BFF, my frenemy and my baby mama.

 

 

When I still lived in Pittsburgh this happened to me at least once a week. I never knew what to do in those circumstances so I would usually internally panic and wonder how well I was supposed to know this person. Like, what if I had accidentally slept with this person, or what if they saved my life by donating a kidney or a heart or something when I was dying? But then I wonder if they’re tricking me and I’m really supposed radiate hatred instead of pretending to smile because they beat me up or raped my dad or something similar. God damn it sucks balls (but not literally) not to be able to remember people who remember you.

 

So I’d usually just kind of plaster this fake smile across my face and nod and tilt my head at all of the appropriate intervals and hope like hell they weren’t on to me. Because if they realized how bad my memory actually was they could have easily produced DNA evidence and informed me that I owed around $21,874.00 in back child support.

God damn Maury and his God damn tests.

 

 

Now that I’m a safe six thousand miles from home those awkward encounters almost never happen to me in person anymore. Now they only happen on Facebook. I went to a large high school and I had my share of friends but I wasn’t, like, quarterback of the football team, popular. I wasn’t even wide receiver popular, and I was the wide receiver (but not in the gay way) until my senior year. But now everybody I’ve ever so much as nodded to in the hall wants to be my friend on Facebook.

 

Back in high school they were all like, “Oh no, we can’t hang out with Scott. He sells crack and he stabbed that kid in the throat with a utility knife in wood shop (true story) and we heard his dad might have been raped but can’t remember.” Now, when I log on, I see friend requests from people wanting to be all up in my grill. That would be fine in and of itself, but then they send me messages asking me if I remember these ‘incidents’ and wanting me to be all nostalgic but not only do I not remember “what happened” at “that killer party” where “we accidentally exploded that old dude’s heart” but I don’t even know who the motherfuck it is sending me these messages in the first place. I don’t remember any Bills or Jeffs…?

Maybe I should start taking Astra Zeneca or something.  

October 31, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , ,

86 Comments »

  1. Maybe you’ve got the kind of face that makes people think you’re their friend – like Henry Fonda. All you have to do is say the same lines that Henry Fonda did when playing Mr Roberts or someone.

    Comment by Gorilla Bananas | October 31, 2010 | Reply

    • You may be onto something with that theory GB. Because people often accuse me of things that there’s nooo way I could have done. How could I have called that guy an asshole at the bar that night when I was blacked out on vodka, right at home?

      Thanks Gorilla Bananas!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | November 1, 2010 | Reply

  2. Yeah, I had one of the principals of our company – a *really* big cheese – say good morning and call me by name in the breakfast bar at a Holiday Inn Express – I had no idea who he was and it showed. It was way too early in the morning to come up with any sort of plastered on smile and head tilt and I hadn’t had any coffee, yet. Then I blasted my car horn at the MSHA inspector while he was blocking the driveway in the parking lot – this was one of those rare instances when I recognized him and hoped to Gawd he hadn’t recognized me (I’d just rode down the flippin’ elevator with the guy and we’d chatted! Ack!), and then decide to drop in for a “surprise” inspection!

    When you come back to the States, we can wildly party and then have no recollection whatsoever – it’d be a win/win!

    Comment by Desert Rat | October 31, 2010 | Reply

    • Oh my God that is so ridiculously embarrassing when that happens. As you might imagine that kind of thing happens to me ALL THE TIME as well. The beeping/swearing/flipping off thing has happened to me with bosses, friends and mother-in-laws. Plural! Did you ever find out if he recognized you?

      That sounds like one hell of a plan DR. I’m moving back in May as well so I hope you’re serious!

      Thanks Dessert Rat!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | November 1, 2010 | Reply

      • No, don’t move back yet! I’m heading to UK and Europe sometime in July-ish.

        Comment by Mitzi G Burger | November 1, 2010 | Reply

        • Maybe you could either make it earlier or add a side trip to Florida?

          Comment by Scott Oglesby | November 2, 2010 | Reply

      • Absolutely, I’m serious. Of course, maybe we’ve *already* partied and don’t remember!

        Comment by Desert Rat | November 2, 2010 | Reply

        • No, I think I would remember you no matter what. Definitely!

          Comment by Scott Oglesby | November 2, 2010 | Reply

  3. You have captured my awkwardity to a tee. Now that I live in a country town and my eyesight has deteriorated, this problem has become even worse. Now – unless it is raining and I can hide behind an umbrella – I walk down the street with a stupid sort of half-smile on my face and I kinda half-wave at anyone who looks my way. Out at dinner, I am nodding away like one of those little toys you put on your dashboard, as everyone comes and goes. Of course, now everyone probably thinks I am the retarded local and they nod and wave and smile at me when they don’t even know me and it has made the whole process of going for a walk down the street almost unbearable. On top of all that, I missed out on most of the exciting drugs…but I may have inhaled.

    Comment by Karen lee Thompson | October 31, 2010 | Reply

    • That is a new thing for me, now that I live in a small town as well. Mine is due to a poor memory rather than poor eyesight, though I do have that as well. I still haven’t gotten used to virtual strangers waving at me though; I always think they’re reaching for a gun or something.

      The worst of those incidents occur when someone on the street is waving at someone just behind you and you wave back, and see them look confused, then slowly turn around, then you try to crawl in a hole and die…

      Thanks Karen!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | November 1, 2010 | Reply

  4. That’s one of the things I hate about Facebook. Usually it’s some guy I went out on a date with and totally don’t remember. I often wonder at their motivation for wanting to “friend” me.

    Comment by Rev D | October 31, 2010 | Reply

    • It may be the same as their motivation for taking you on a date in the first place. Because they genuinely value your companionship and conversation…or, no, we’ll go with that.

      Thanks Rev D!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | November 1, 2010 | Reply

      • Yeah, lets go with that. I prefer that to revenge as motivation.

        Comment by Rev D | November 4, 2010 | Reply

        • Smart move! Better not to think about it too much…

          Comment by Scott Oglesby | November 5, 2010 | Reply

  5. Hm. For shits ‘n giggles, maybe I should friend you on FB and pretend that we knew each other way back when… 🙂

    Comment by gazingatnavels | November 1, 2010 | Reply

    • I’ve had over 200 of my FB friends come from my blog. And only 20 or 30 of those are commenters. So please do. You guys are my best FB friends. Writers make for better banter!

      Thanks Gazingatnavels!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | November 1, 2010 | Reply

  6. I’m friends with people on FB I went to high school with, I don’t remember and I can’t find them in the yearbook. Other classmates I DO remember know the persons in question and try to jog my memory, but too much LSD in college – I think it’s too late….

    Comment by Evil Twin's Wife | November 1, 2010 | Reply

    • That’s my problem. And I don’t even have any yearbooks to check. It’s surprising that all these people remember me when I don’t have a clue who they are.

      That was part of my problem as well. Too much… everything.

      Thanks Evil Twin’s Wife!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | November 1, 2010 | Reply

  7. You know you’re totally furbard when your wife says, “Come on hun, it’s time to go.” And you say, “That’s okay, I think I’ll go home with my wife tonight.” I really hate when that happens. Not the going home with the wife thingy, but the ‘What? Tonight?” thingy she screams about as she uses that cast iron skillet on various parts of my body, not that I can remember anything like that happening to me.

    After I couldn’t remember that, I came to the conclusion doing LSD and Quaaludes at the same time was probably not a good idea, although it seemed a pretty good idea at the time.

    Comment by jammer5 | November 1, 2010 | Reply

    • BTW, I didn’t know you looked like my ex in the shower. Small world.

      Comment by jammer5 | November 1, 2010 | Reply

      • HOly shit, that’s your ex? That’s my shower meth Me!

        Comment by Scott Oglesby | November 1, 2010 | Reply

    • I can’t tell you how many nights I’ve had like that. I once left an Ozzy concert with strangers and was all the way back at their house smoking and drinking and slowly realizing that I was 30 miles from home before I realized that I’d made a huge mistake. I was in BIG BIG trouble when my girlfriend had to pick me up the next day.

      Thanks Jammer!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | November 1, 2010 | Reply

  8. It happened a few times, and man is it awkward. And sometimes it happens when I should really, really know their name, like the dogs. Sometimes I call a dog by a previous dog’s name, or the other dog’s, and then the poor dog just kind of looks at me funny, like my wife looks at me funny. But I KNOW her name. I do! Gimme me a minute . . .

    Comment by Dan McGinley | November 1, 2010 | Reply

    • It’s awful with the pets. And we have the simplest names in the world. Luke, Kitty Kat and The Puppy, so you’d think I could at least get that right but I always call Luke “Come..on..puppy” and The Puppy “come one Boy…” and of course it’s a girl.

      What’s going to happen when we’re 80? Scary shit.

      Thanks Dan!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | November 1, 2010 | Reply

  9. I just had that on linked in where someone who’s name, job history, or city didn’t ring a bell at all and I was stuck.

    Finally I emailed him that I had no clue who he was….then of course he reminded me. DOH!!!

    Comment by Bearman | November 1, 2010 | Reply

    • I know that I should just ‘man up’ and ask them but I rarely have the balls. Especially since some of the people that I struggle to remember were actually kind of good friends in the way back when.

      Thanks Bearman!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | November 1, 2010 | Reply

  10. Every once in a while I go through my facebook friends list and will think “who the hell is this?” So I click on their profile and be like “Oh yeah, went to high school with him.” Weirdest thing is they send me these friend requests but I never hear from them or anything. Eh, whatever. haha

    Comment by Jay | November 1, 2010 | Reply

    • Haha, I always do that too. I end up meeting people at parties or events and FB comes up in the convo and a few days later, they’ll friend me. But a month after that and I’m all like “who the hell is this person?” Now it’s like half my friends.

      Thanks Jay!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | November 1, 2010 | Reply

  11. I even get my kids mixed up. I’d be hopeless if anyone from high school tried to track me down.

    Comment by nursemyra | November 1, 2010 | Reply

    • Ha, I definitely would if I had more than one kid. We all want you to join FB… Please!

      Thanks Nursemyra!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | November 1, 2010 | Reply

      • oh I’m on there somewhere…. I just check it so rarely….

        Comment by nursemyra | November 1, 2010 | Reply

        • I saw that you are. We just need to find you a pic now! I have some ideas…

          Comment by Scott Oglesby | November 1, 2010 | Reply

  12. Your posts put me in such a good mood, I get that urge to leap onto my notebook and start writing mediocre performance poetry.

    Memory lapses can be socially difficult. It’s quite challenging being a teacher when you have a whole school-ful of kids whose names are really important to their fragile sense of self. I have perfected the kind and anonymous “Hello…there! How’s it going?” and “Hey, have a top day,” with an extra “I really care about you” kind of smile.

    Pretty impressive to have become cleaned up. Love is the drug, according to Roxy Music. But is Brian Ferry to be trusted?

    Comment by Mitzi G Burger | November 1, 2010 | Reply

    • That is the weirdest thing Mitzi; being with me causes more women than I can count to retire into a dimly lit room and write mediocre performance poetry. I’m never sure if it’s a positive effect I have or not.

      That’s brilliant of you to do that with your students. Now that I think about it, I seem to recall most of my teachers using those kinds of phrase tactics more often than my name. Hmm.

      Thanks Mitzi!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | November 1, 2010 | Reply

  13. What really scares me, is that it’s ME looking for these people on sites like Former Lynners on FB. Why for the life of me am I interested (I think)in finding people I went to school with? They don’t want to really know me, their still in fucking Lynn!

    Comment by Micky-T | November 1, 2010 | Reply

    • I’m sure they would love to hear from you Mic. You’ve been around the world. I think that is part of my mystique given the fact that a large number of the people in my school (in any school) never left their hometown.

      Thanks Micky!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | November 1, 2010 | Reply

  14. I don’t not remember people I went to school with…I choose to ignore them. Chhers Jay!!

    Comment by Matt-Man | November 1, 2010 | Reply

    • I wish I had the option; I just can’t remember. My name is still Scott but you can call me Zodi if Scott insults your delicate sensibilities.

      Thanks Mike!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | November 1, 2010 | Reply

    • Hey Bob, what’s in a name anyway.

      Comment by Micky-Bill | November 1, 2010 | Reply

  15. The beginning of this post reminds me of a high school teacher I had. He would lose his train of thought or go off on a tangent, and then he’d just pause and say, “Don’t do drugs.”

    Comment by thoughtsappear | November 1, 2010 | Reply

    • That is actually a brilliant idea. It would come in handy at parties and Jeopardy tapings when I don’t know the answer but accidentally hit the buzzer.

      Thanks Thoughtsappear!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | November 1, 2010 | Reply

  16. I was not popular in high school at all, but when I got on FB all of a sudden these people who wouldn’t give me the time of day back then are friend requesting me. I accepted their requests because I wanted to see if I aged better than they did (I did – no kids means fewer wrinkles).
    I am good with faces but horrible with names. I’ll see someone and know that I know them but can’t remember their name for the life of me. And I’ve hardly done any drugs.

    I hear if you have problems paying for your drugs Astra Zeneca can help. That shit must be awesome! I wonder if it could also help me pay for shoes? Do I get more money if I snort it? So many questions . . .

    Comment by Amy | November 1, 2010 | Reply

    • Okay, I can *totally* relate to wanting to see if I’ve aged better! Ha! That’s funny! (I don’t have kids, either.)

      Comment by Desert Rat | November 2, 2010 | Reply

      • And I’m sure you have DR; just look at you!

        Comment by Scott Oglesby | November 2, 2010 | Reply

    • I know what you mean. It also gives me a perverse joy to see that I’ve aged better than others… especially that girl who turned me down. It’s also convenient because I can be better than them all. If they look poor, then I have more money. If they are rich, then I’m way happier. If they are a conservative Christian I know that they are already being suffering in a mental hell of their own making.

      Thanks Amy!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | November 2, 2010 | Reply

  17. OMG it just happened to me this weekend at my best friends wedding!! hahaha how timely!

    i had 3 people come up to me so enthusiastically hugging me telling me they were so glad to see me “again” and I had NO friggin clue who the hell they were… but i did the best acting of my life, i acted equally as excited to see them…then cleverly excused myself from the proceedings cause i had NO idea who the hell they were haha. too funny

    Comment by Susi Spice | November 1, 2010 | Reply

    • That always used to happen to me at weddings and funerals. I was married to an Italian with a ginormous family and every function would have 3 or 4 hundred guests. Half of whom I grew up with or went to school with but couldn’t remember for shit.

      It didn’t help that all the guys were named Mario or Paul and all the girls were named Maria either.

      Thanks Susi!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | November 2, 2010 | Reply

  18. 1. “I think meth makes you do that. I also think that meth causes you to lay witness to an ugly, anorexic, bleedy, baldy, corpsey, naked version of yourself in the shower.”

    So you’re saying I’ll get skinny?

    2. ” I’ve also never done the kind of drug that makes you get all dick sucky when you feel you need more of it.” HI-Larious.

    3. “Back in high school they were all like, “Oh no, we can’t hang out with Scott. He sells crack and he stabbed that kid in the throat with a utility knife in wood shop (true story) and we heard his dad might have been raped but can’t remember.” Stabbed a kid in the throat . . . you’re the best Scott.

    Comment by Vodka and Ground Beef | November 1, 2010 | Reply

    • From my experience (and I don’t have any, unfortunately, with meth) you will for sure get skinny. If you’re looking for a slightly slower, healthier weight loss, which makes it much easier to keep off, BTW, I’d highly recommend crack. It will still have a few negative side effects but you’ll look slightly more alive.

      And you’re in luck because I happen to have an overstock of crack right now. So for this week only EVERYTHING MUST GO! I’m offering 3 (rocks) for $20 while supplies last. Don’t miss this out on wonderful opportunity.

      Thanks V & GB!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | November 2, 2010 | Reply

  19. You know what’s worse? When YOU go up to someone, give them a big high five , a peck on the cheek and a “how the heck ya been” before realizing you don’t friggin know them. They just look like someone you know.Awkward!!!

    Comment by frigginloon | November 1, 2010 | Reply

    • Or don’tcha just love it when you DO know them but call them by the wrong name!?

      Comment by Desert Rat | November 2, 2010 | Reply

      • That’s why I try to call girls ‘hun’ and guys ‘dood.’ It works well!

        Comment by Scott Oglesby | November 2, 2010 | Reply

    • I do that all the time. The only difference is that I know that I don’t know them. I just like to practice my acting skills to stay sharp for when I go back on the road doing ‘long cons.’ You’d be surprised how many people you can convince!

      Thanks Loon!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | November 2, 2010 | Reply

      • Blahahaha Scotty, it’s like a mental punk. They will spend years trying to work out who the hell you are. Must try 🙂

        Comment by frigginloon | November 2, 2010 | Reply

        • It well worth the momentary awkwardity you’ll feel.

          Comment by Scott Oglesby | November 3, 2010 | Reply

  20. Over the years I have perfected my “fuck off don’t come near me do I look like I want to fucking talk to you” face so well that a plastic surgeon mistaking my permanent scowl for facial disfigurement wouldn’t even come close enough to offer me a business card. On plus side, no awkward encounters, but on the down side, sometimes my own partner crosses the street to avoid me….

    Comment by RubyTwoShoes | November 2, 2010 | Reply

    • Oh my god I know that look. I’ve tried to use it myself but me being me I’ve only ended up looking retarded, confused or slightly stroke-y. More people end up coming up to me to see if I need help or if they should call a doctor. I think you have to be a woman to perfect that look.

      Hilarious comment!

      Thanks Ruby!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | November 2, 2010 | Reply

  21. “I guess I pretty much suck balls at being a drug addict, except without all the ball sucking because if I were doing the ball sucking, I would, ironically, not suck balls at being a drug addict. I’d be good at it.”

    I thought I was feeling better until I read this post. Remember that phlegm thing I was telling you about earlier? Well, it happened again. (And not because you posted those Ebola Hilton/Maury Povich pics.)

    ps. “Astra Zeneca can help.”

    Comment by Bschooled | November 2, 2010 | Reply

    • You always have the ability to alight upon my favorite line of the post; it’s like you’re my doppelganger or something.

      I do remember. And I hope you remembered my advice to get that ‘special’ cough syrup from your doc. They never want to give that good stuff out. If you’re sick you have to milk it (the phlegm) for all it’s worth!

      Can you send me some of that good Canadian Astra Zeneca? (and any left over cough syrup???!!)

      Thanks B!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | November 2, 2010 | Reply

  22. Fortunately for me of the thousand plus kids I went to school with only a few are smart enough to figure out that Reb and Becky are the same person. Also, I moved to a big(ish) city to avoid running into people I know or who know me and I am perfectly capable of walking right past my sister(have done that) and not see her. So, no worries about people I think I might recognize, or who might recognize me, I ignore everyone 😉

    Comment by Reb | November 2, 2010 | Reply

    • Oh and I too have perfected the look the RubyTwoShoes mentioned.

      Comment by Reb | November 2, 2010 | Reply

    • It sounds like you have the master plan! I admit, I loved the relative anonymity I found in Florida. So much so that I moved to Spain. So far, I haven’t run into one person that I went to high school. Moving a continent away works like a charm!

      Thanks Reb!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | November 3, 2010 | Reply

  23. How do you get those captions on your pics? Those are funny. Good post too, man. I guess that’s why you’re a 50 comment in a day kind of guy.

    I’m with you as far as bad, bad drugs go. Who sees people on some of those awful drugs and thinks it would be sexy?

    Comment by Dr. Ken | November 3, 2010 | Reply

    • I’m not sure that Blogspot would have the same format. It is ridiculously easy with WordPress. The only problem is you can’t put advertising up. Which sucks.

      I think people just kind of slip into it. I grew up in a poor neighborhood and I saw so many of my friends fall into crack and heroin. It’s not even funny how fast and low they go.

      Thanks Dr. Ken!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | November 3, 2010 | Reply

  24. I love how you describe “accidently sleeping” with someone. Back in the day I had more than a few of those there type accidents. I have walked miles of shame.

    You’re not as old as me so you don’t yet know the freedom that comes with getting older. Now I just look at people and freely declare “I don’t know who the fuck you are”

    It’s a Jesus like a-ha moment

    Comment by dianne | November 3, 2010 | Reply

    • I’m convinced, more now than ever, that you should write a book about your life. Now, you even have a working title; Miles of Shame. That is a bestseller for sure. I’m already in love with that title.

      This is why I love you (well part of the reason) because I adore your brutal, hardcore honesty!

      Thanks Dianne!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | November 4, 2010 | Reply

  25. So that’s why you changed your race status on Facebook! But why did you stab a guy if you stabbed a guy? Not that that’s any of my business. I never saw someone do a reverse Mr. Jackson before and I am rightly impressed! You are just too likable is your problem. Ah, if we all had that problem. It’s prolly a good thing for me b/c people got to initiate a conversation with me to get me to talk. I have tons of friends on AOL I don’t talk to first b/c I’m weird and shy and shit. If they talk first I’m fine. Where was I going with this? I have no idea,but anyway, awesome post!

    Comment by Lisa | November 3, 2010 | Reply

    • No it really happened but it was a total accident. We were just screwing around, he pretended to try and hit me with a hammer, I thought the utility blade was all the way closed, and ran it across his throat. It wasn’t all the way closed and he had to get a couple stitches. I got in trouble as you can imagine.

      You are not weird at all. Well, everybody is weird, you’re not any weirder, I should say. And I haven’t found you to be shy at all. I think you got yourself pegged all wrong doll, I wrong. Did you hear the 50’s accent?

      Thanks Lisa!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | November 4, 2010 | Reply

      • you got it wrong, ya see. Well I’m glad you aren’t murderous. I’d still think you were just swell!

        Comment by Lisa | November 4, 2010 | Reply

        • Thanks Doll, thanks see. I think you’re swell like a breast as well, see!

          I suck at the accent.

          Comment by Scott Oglesby | November 5, 2010 | Reply

      • That was a fifties accent? I coulda swore it was 1948 or 9.

        Comment by jammer5 | November 5, 2010 | Reply

        • No, I honestly think that was more of 19never. I suck at peroid accents.

          Comment by Scott Oglesby | November 5, 2010 | Reply

  26. This happens to me all the time, but, since apparently I used elective pharmaceuticals less then you, I reduced the explanations to one of two. 1) Early onset Alzheimers, or 2) everyone likes messin’ with me. Maybe there were more than two potential explanations, but I can’t remeber.

    Comment by Bill Reed | November 3, 2010 | Reply

    • When did they start using my real name instead of my user name?

      Comment by Kenosis23 | November 3, 2010 | Reply

      • It depends on how you put it in, I guess.

        Comment by Scott Oglesby | November 5, 2010 | Reply

    • That’s surprising Bill, I always took you as a smoker like I used to be. Early onset Alzheimer’s is a possibility I suppose but you seem too young for that. Hmm, are you sure you didn’t accidentally smoke a lot of dope in your early years?

      Thanks Bill!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | November 4, 2010 | Reply

      • If I did smoke an immoderate amount — we’re talking tobacco right — I certainly don’t remember it and, I would be willing to guess, I certainly “didn’t inhale” … much.

        Comment by Kenosis23 | November 5, 2010 | Reply

        • Tobacco, weed, crack, opium, heroin, Ajax…. it’s all the same basically.

          Comment by Scott Oglesby | November 5, 2010 | Reply

  27. I have come to learn the opposite is true in my life, I am the girl no one ever seems to remember. Not that I have a great memory mind you but if I have a halfway decent conversation with someone, I will remember them at the next choir recital or soccer game. Likewise in my business dealings, I can remember faces pretty good even if your name escapes me. So imagine my shock when I approach someone to say “Hey, how did that knee surgery go?” and I get the 100 yard stare in return. Really? Fuck, don’t I feel like an asshole now? I’ve reached the point where I’ve stopped even trying to catch someones eye if we are not really, really friends. Fuck em. They can go ahead and think of me as that bitchy mom who never says hi.

    Comment by Mick_Chick | November 3, 2010 | Reply

    • I think that the world must be divided in two in yet one more regard; those who remember people and those who don’t. I actually do remember faces really well too, and I’d def remember you if I told you about knee surgery! But now I’ve met so many people that everybody looks similar to someone else I know, if even from a reality show. Life is getting more confusing by the day.

      Thanks Mick_Chick!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | November 4, 2010 | Reply

  28. Oooh dude, you were a bad-ass, wood shop shank weilding, drug addict and now you’re just an average Scott living out the dream in Spain???

    That’s kinda hot.

    The picture of the meth girl is absolutely horrifying.

    Comment by Candy | November 4, 2010 | Reply

    • Well I don’t know if I was ever a bad ass or a drug addict (per se) but I was for sure a wood shop shanker and now I’m a Scott in Spain. It is amazing how much things change in 15 years!

      I’ll have to work on the living the dream thing a little more but I do try!

      Thanks Candy!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | November 5, 2010 | Reply

  29. You look familiar to them because they bought a pound of reefer off of you back in ’85, but let’s face it – they don’t really fucking remember you, either, lol !!

    Comment by Heff | November 5, 2010 | Reply

    • You know, you’re probably right. Except it wouldn’t have been in 85 (I was only 12) and it wouldn’t have been refer but you definitely are on to something!

      Thanks Heff!!

      Comment by Scott Oglesby | November 6, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

